Early Years Recognised Qualifications

This DCEDIY approved list contains all qualifications which have been approved by the Department of Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth. It also sets out the appropriate level of DCEDIY approval, for example:

  • Meets regulatory requirements.
  • Eligible for Room Leader – standard capitation.
  • Eligible for Room Leader – higher capitation.

If your qualification is on the list you do not need to apply to DCEDIY for qualifications recognition.

If your early childhood care and education qualification does not appear on the list you may apply to have it assessed for approval (see here.)

Professional Award Criteria and Guidelines

Professional Award Criteria and Guidelines for initial professional education (Level 7 and 8) new degree programmes beginning in 2021 and later, for the Early Learning and Care sector in Ireland have been published by the Minister of Education and Skills. The Guidelines are available for download here.

The Qualifications Advisory Board (QAB)

The QAB has been jointly instituted by the Minister for Education and Skills and the Minister for Children, Disability, Equality, Integration and Youth on a non-statutory basis to review Initial Professional Education (Level 7 and Level 8) Degree Programmes for the Early Learning and Care Sector. More information can be found on their webpage here.